The Michalek family has owned and operated funeral businesses in New York since 1871. Jan Josef Michalek opened his funeral home on the Upper East Side of Manhattan on East 73rd Street. The six-story building was in a Czech neighborhood where his family also resided. Jan’s son Charles then took over the business at the turn of the century.
FROM MANHATTAN TO BELLMORE
Charles ran the funeral home until his son John Michalek took over before World War II. John was educated at St John’s University in Queens, NY and was an accountant at General Cigar before he joined the family business. In 1941 John made the decision to relocate the business from Manhattan to Bellmore, Long Island. He opened a funeral home on the corner of Bellmore and Wilson Avenues where he lived with his family. In 1956, John opened the first funeral home in the town of Wantagh and named it the Wantagh Abbey.
John’s sons – John Jr., Bruce, and Douglas all joined the family business in the late 1950s and early 1960s. Bruce moved to Connecticut and John opened the Commack Abbey in 1973. Douglas continues to run the Wantagh Abbey to this day and founded the Bellmore Funeral Home at 2340 Jerusalem Avenue in March of 1975.
150 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE
With 150 years of experience in New York we have helped families from all walks of life honor and celebrate the life of their loved ones. We are leaders in our profession, dedicated to excellence and integrity. Our family has served the community for four generations and has guided families with compassion, sincerity, and trust during their loved one’s passing
Planning a funeral can be overwhelming and our knowledge allows us to help families make decisions during this difficult time. Our approach focuses on active listening to create an environment to honor and remember those who have passed. Our chapels provide a setting for us to reflect, appreciate, and celebrate life.